Grade 7 Civics and Ethical Education textbook

The contents of book are as given below

(To read or download, click on the particular unit)

Unit 1: Democratic System 

Explain the major principles of the democratic system and identify the major contributions of Ethiopia for African countries.

  • 1.1 Principles of a Democratic System
  • 1.2 Human and Democratic Rights
  • 1.3 Tolerance in Diversity
  • 1.4 Functions of Government
  • 1.5 The Structure of the State of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
  • 1.6 Foreign Relations of Ethiopia

Unit 2: The Rule of Law

Distinguish some characteristics of the constitution and other laws. Explain the characteristics of legal protection and its importance

  • 2.1 Constitution
  • 2.2 Ethics
  • 2.3 Limits of Power
  • 2.4 Secrets
  • 2.5 Corruption

Unit 3: Equality 

Distinguish the right for equality and equity of the Ethiopian nations, nationalities, and peoples. Explain the right for equality and equity of physically impaired people.

  • 3.1 The Right to Equality and Equity
  • 3.2 The Importance of Respecting the Equality of Language and other Cultural Aspects of Nations, Nationalities and People
  • 3.3 Gender Equality
  • 3.4 The Rights of the Disabled People
  • 3.5 The Advantages of Respecting Religious Equality

Unit 4: Justice 

State the importance of just and non-discriminatory procedures for citizens. Distinguish the judicial procedures of judicial institutions

  • 4.1 The Prevalence of Non-Discriminatory and Fair Procedures
  • 4.2 Impacts of Discriminatory Procedures
  • 4.3 Social Service Institutions
  • 4.4 Judicial Institutions at Different Levels
  • 4.5 Measures to be Taken When There are Human Rights Violations and Injustice
  • 4.6 Taxation

Unit 5: Patriotism 

Develop a modern patriotic idea in relation to the preservation of the history and culture of the country.

  • 5.1 Patriotism
  • 5.2 Destructive and Harmful Practices
  • 5.3 Policies and Strategies of Development
  • 5.4 Citizenship
  • 5.5 National

Unit 6: Responsibility 

Identify different types and levels of responsibility. Understand your responsibility to preserve natural and historical heritages

  • 6.1 Fulfilling Responsibility
  • 6.2 Promise
  • 6.3 Natural Resources and Historical Heritage
  • 6.4 HIV/AIDS

Unit 7: Industriousness 

Understand that no job should be disposed of and understand the dignity of work and the importance of using time wisely.

  • 7.1 Developing a Culture of Industriousness
  • 7.2 Idleness
  • 7.3 Professions and Professional Ethics

Unit 8: Self-Reliance

Understand the negative impacts of dependency. Explain self-awareness.

  • 8.1 Developing the Culture of Self-Reliance
  • 8.2 Recognizing Greater Performance
  • 8.3 Self-confidence

Unit 9: Saving

Describes different methods of saving. Explain the importance of planning one’s life and the habit of saving.

  • 9.1 Types of Saving
  • 9.2 The Habit of Saving
  • 9.3 Planning

Unit 10: Active Community Participation 

Understand the importance of active participation locally and nationally. Identify the roles of civil societies

  • 10.1 Active Participation in Local Affairs
  • 10.2 The Roles of Civic Societies

Unit 11: The Pursuit of Wisdom 

Develop your interest in education by understanding the importance of knowledge for development, research, and innovation.

  • 11.1 The Importance of Scientific Knowledge
  • 11.2 Sources of Information and their Utilization
  • 11.3 Backward Thinking and Boastful Sayings
  • 11.4 Reading